Wednesday, August 24, 2011

The City of Nichols Hills
Minutes of the Nichols Hills Environment,
Health and Sustainability Commission
August 24, 2011

Original Agenda Filed in the Office of the Municipal Clerk at 8:15 a.m.  on the 22nd   day of August, 2011.

Nancy Herzel, Chairman                             Mary Frates
Pat Schonwald                                           Carlene Burger
Mary Ellen Ternes                                       Amy Loper
Marty Smith                                                Peg Malloy
Lucy Covington                                           David Poole, City Manager 
Charles Hooper, Public Works Director        Kristi Hort, City Clerk, Fin Director

1. Call to Order

Chairman Herzel called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. 

2. Roll Call

Acknowledgement was made by Chairman Herzel that she along with Members, Mary Ellen Ternes, Peg Malloy, Lucy Covington, Carlene Burger and Marty Smith were present. The following members were absent: Pat Schonwald and Mary Frates.

3. Approval of Minutes:

a. Meeting April 27, 2011


4. Discussion, Consideration and Possible recommendation of recycling fee.

Ms. Tracy Crawford with Allied Waste attended this meeting in an effort to answer questions and assist in resolving the contaminated load issue which continues to be a problem for Nichols Hills recycling center.   Many ideas were shared and conversation included ceasing some types of recycle items at our facility.  Burger MOVED to TABLE the conversation.  Covington SECONDED.  AYES:  Malloy, Ternes, Herzel, Burger, Smith and Covington.

5. Discussion, Consideration and Possible action regarding Rules and Regulations.

Commission members were reminded of last years approval by Nichols Hills City Council of the rules and regulations, and that one member had requested this commission consider approval of these rules and regulations and they be published on the Nichols Hills web site.  Burger MOVED to APPROVE the rules and regulations and ask staff to have the EHS Rules and Regulations published on the City of Nichols Hills website. Malloy SECONDED.  AYES:  Malloy, Herzel, Burger, and Covington.   NAYES:  Smith  ABSTAIN: Ternes

6. Announcements.

At the beginning of this meeting Chairman Herzel introduce the newest EHS Commission Member Ms. Lucy Covington and thanks her for accepting the appointment to this board. 

7. Adjournment

APPROVED:  Moved by Ternes, seconded by Malloy. AYES:  Malloy, Ternes, Herzel, Burger, Smith and Covington.


Nancy Herzel
Nancy Herzel, Chairman


Kristi Hort                               David Poole 
______________________  ______________________
Kristi Hort, City Clerk              David Poole, City Manager


City of Nichols Hills, Oklahoma - © 2023 - All Rights Reserved | Site Handcrafted in Ashland, Oregon by Project A